Get the App
SLTechnology News&Howtos  ›  IT Information  › 

Protect users' location privacy, Android 14 keeps apps from messing around.

Shulou Source: shulou.com Published: 2023-11-24 16:43:20 10月23日 Update

CTOnews.com, May 11, the Android 14 system will add a new feature that allows users to see whether the application will share location data with third parties when granting application location permissions.

According to CTOnews.com, the Android 11 system introduces the concept of temporary permissions, allowing applications to access users' data only when needed. The following year, the Android 12 system enabled the function of approximate location sharing, while the Android 14 system focused on solving the problem of location data sharing.

Many applications need to access location data, some for their own functions, and some for sharing data with third parties. In Android 14, Google hopes to push Android developers to explain more transparently how location data is used.

According to the Android 14 Beta 2 blog post, when the location permission prompt appears, users will see a warning if the app declares on the page of its Play store that it may share data with third parties. This information is obtained from the data security section of the app's Play Store, which was launched last year to help developers explain how they intend to use location data, including for marketing and advertising purposes.

This makes it convenient for users, as it eliminates the need to check the Play Store page every time an app is suspected of having privacy issues, and the Android system automatically displays that information.

In addition, if developers change the way they collect location data, the Android 14 system will also notify users. This reminder will be displayed monthly in the form of a notification. Most users have hundreds of apps installed on their Android devices, and it becomes annoying if every change is notified. Therefore, the monthly frequency is an ideal compromise.

This new feature is located under Settings-> Security and Privacy-> Privacy and is marked as location data sharing updates. At the developer conference, Google clarified that this additional information is currently available only for location permissions, but will be extended to other permissions in the future.

Tags: Location data applications systems users permissions developers developers privacy information functions stores third parties security ways problems pages annoyance so that Apple Docker Huawei Linux macOS MariaDB Microsoft MySQL NVidia OPPO Reno Xiaomi macOS NVidia MySQL Shulou Tech Info