Google will start deleting inactive Gmail accounts on December 1.
CTOnews.com, Nov. 12 (Xinhua) Google will delete its long-inactive Gmail account and photos from December 1, which Google announced earlier this year, and there are only a few weeks to go before the deadline.
According to CTOnews.com, Google defines an account that has not been used in two years as an inactive account. Google considers logging in, reading or sending email, using Google's cloud hard drive, watching YouTube videos, sharing photos, downloading apps, and searching while logged in are all "activities."
If you have a Google account and haven't logged in or done anything in two years, Google thinks it's inactive. This policy applies only to individual accounts and does not include accounts related to employers, schools or other organizations.
Once deemed inactive, Google may delete all content and data from the account from December 1, including a large amount of information stored by Google, such as Google photos, Google Calendar events, Google Docs and email. Prior to that, Google will send notifications to the account and the recovery mailbox, if any.
There are some exceptions, such as if your account is used to buy something from the Google Store, or if your account has a gift card with a balance, Google will not delete it.
So if you have a Gmail account that hasn't been used for a while, and you don't want Google to delete everything related to it, be sure to log in before December 1.